A new found respect

Every day this week I’ve been asked to post a blog pertaining to my topic, and I must say—wow that was hard! I honestly wasn’t sure what to expect going into this assignment, but I survived! It was much harder than I was expecting in the beginning. I’m a planner, and I had already had most of my topics planned out that I wanted to write about, but finding the time to actually sit down and write a substantial post was difficult!

Over the course of this week, I feel that I’ve definitely gotten better at finding ideas to write about. I know it sounds silly, but I found often times that when I was looking for sources, I came up with new and different ideas that I hadn’t previously thought of. This was incredibly helpful, just to see what others had previously been talking about, and putting my own spin on it, being able to offer a college student’s perspective.

I would definitely say I’ve developed an entirely new respect for full-time bloggers, who use this medium as their income and way of life. It’s incredibly different to always come up with a new, fresh idea that keeps both you and the readers interested. It’s so laborious to write about something you have no interest in. Sometimes, there just isn’t anything readily available to write about, and this is where the real work comes in. Digging deep and doing research to come up with something meaningful and helpful to your readers is so difficult, because nobody wants their blog to be boring. I can see why experts indicate it is best to update your blog a few times a week. It’s certainly possible that blogs could lose quality because they’re trying to increase their quantity.

While it definitely got easier to come up with new ideas over the course of the week, by no means would I call this assignment “easy.” I learned one of the best things you can do is plan ahead! It was so much easier to sit down and type one or two blog posts a few days before they were due, because it gave me time to look back over them and make corrections, add a new idea, etc. I couldn’t imagine writing a blog post on the day it was due. I kind of approached this assignment like I would writing a paper—I would write it, and then go back and re-read it to make sure everything was coherent and I truly was expressing what I wanted to.

I have a whole new level of respect for professional, full-time bloggers! I didn’t realize the amount of research that was required to do this full-time, but bloggers should certainly be commended for the amount of work they do!

Leave a Reply

